The Sewing Studio is Now Open

Today is the first day that I had someone join me in my sewing studio. My friend purchased some reproduction fabrics and wants to make a nine-patch quilt for her son’s wedding. We had cut the strips previously and now it was time to put them together.

I set her up with my 1898 Singer handcrank.

Dori sewing on the 1898 Singer handcrank

Dori sewing on the 1898 Singer handcrank

 

Piecing nine-patch blocks

Piecing nine-patch blocks

We had cut 2-1/2 inch wide strips and will finish with a 6-1/2 inch block before putting them together. After sewing the strips together we cut those ironed strips at 2-1/2 inches too.

Strips cut and ready to put together

Strips cut and ready to put together

Finally she sewed the pieces together to construct the block.

The finished nine-patch block

The finished nine-patch block

 

It was great fun to finally have sewing time in my studio with a friend joining me 😀

Thanks Dori!

Leave a Reply

